There are four events in para rowing: men's single sculls, women's single sculls, mixed double sculls and mixed coxed four. There are three disability categories in the sport: LTA (for athletes with leg, trunk and arm movements), TA (trunk and arms) and AS (arm and shoulders).

Adaptive rowing is rowing or sculling for rowers with a disability who meet the criteria set out in the adaptive rowing classification regulations. Adaptive implies that the equipment is "adapted" to the user to practice the sport, rather than the sport being "adapted" to the user.

Races are held over 1,000 metres for all four events. Rowing competitions are open to athletes with the following physical disabilities: amputee, spinal cord injuries, cerebral palsy, visual impairment, and others (MS, MD, Polio, and SB). Different types of disabilities can be accommodated within the same rowing crew allowing integration of athletes with different disabilities.


Saskatchewan Rowing Association
Betty Henderson, Office Coordinator
510 Cynthia Street
Saskatoon, SK S7L 7K7
(306) 975-0842

The Adaptive Sport program is made possible through the financial contributions from the Sask Lotteries; the program is administered through Sask Sport.